BFR Feb 2020
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Transitioning from 4 to 5 string, a long term thread

User Info Menu

Transitioning from 4 to 5 string, a long term thread

Howdy Folks,

I recently swapped a 25th 4HH for a 5HH. This means I have to spend some time getting my head around doin' this 5 string thing. I though I will make this a blog, posting at regular intervals. This means you will read me try some things that help, and maybe others the don't.

Before I start I think it would be best I give everyone a brief Bio of myself so you know my experience level and what I play. I started playing Bass 2 years ago after sitting behind the drum set for a while. I play in a pop/rock cover band. I moved to bass after we lost our bassist and could not find a replacement (I've never looked back since). We cover a wide spectrum from the 60's to modern stuff. If we like a song then we'll play it. We all do this as a hobby and currently have only have one gig a year planned.

When you read this, one thing to bear in mind is that the main reason I decided to switch to a 5 string is so I can practice a song to the original, and then play it in the band without problems when we transpose it down a step or two. About half our songs are transposed at least one tone lower than the original. The ability to easily transpose forms the basis for how I am approaching the transition. This may be a mistake... we will see

I play mostly finger style but use a pick on only one song (German: Dein ist Mein Ganzes Herz) and (attempt) to slap only on Like I Do from Melissa Etheridge.

Another thing to note is that up until 2 years ago my knowledge of harmonics and musical theory was extremely limited. Some things I try might be obvious to the more experienced players but they may be monumental to me.

So, enough said now I'll start.

Day 1 - First impressions, Baby steps: