EBMM Stingray bass blue
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: As a guitar player of 9 years, what Music Man bass would you recommend for me?

User Info Menu

As a guitar player of 9 years, what Music Man bass would you recommend for me?

Hello everyone!

I am a guitarist who has been playing for nine years, and I would like to ask all of you:

What Music Man basses would you recommend for me as an inexperienced bassist?

I've been looking into Bongos, specifically the 6 string model. Would getting a 6 string be too much for a beginner?

The reason I've been thinking about that one is because I am a huge Dream Theater fan, and John Myung is amazing!

I value everyone's opinions. Thank you, in advance.

User Info Menu

As a guitar player for 20 years and a bass player even more a Stingray 4 or 5 should be a very comfortable transition. I'd lean 4 simply because of the low E orientation. Adding the low B can add an unnecessary level of confusion early on. Lots of folks doing great work without the B string so you won't be missing much to start off.
    2016 Axis Super Sport Trans Gold w/ Maple Neck
    1997 Axis Sport HSS Kandy Lime w/ Maple Neck

User Info Menu

I would recommend a Sterling 4 string.
    Thinner neck and body

User Info Menu

Well, since you are new at the bass, I think a Bongo is perfect! You haven't become acclimated to any particular instrument yet.

User Info Menu

Depends on what you are willing to play.... a bongo 6 is cool for dream theater style music. But will you use the bass for this? If you are a pretty skilled guitar player then mayebe this is the way to go for you! But imo the sr4 is an instant classic and must have for every musicman lover, especially the classic series is a must have for me.... best advice here is to try some out for yourself. Sr4 is pretty straight forward while bongo or sterling is more versatile. Its all up to you
    1977 stingray II guitar--walnut------------maple fb