Joe Dart

Thread: Exotic Colours

User Info Menu

Exotic Colours

Hey guys,
    Don't know what everybody else thinks, but Have Ernie Ball ever done any exotic transparent wood finishes before? Being a drummer as well as a new bassist I am a sucker for a beautiful wood finish. DW do some of the most stunningly beautiful finishes on their drums. They almost look too good to play they are that pretty.
    I was thinking a Bongo in Mapa Burl wood with a transparent sunburst finish would be the most beautiful bass guitar ever made. My Bongo when it arrives is the Tangerine Pearl. Yes, that is a great colour, but if there was a transparent lacquer finish available instead of the painted one I would have paid the extra and gone for that.

User Info Menu

Exotic Colours-mahogany-bongo-front-jpg

Like this?
    LOCK it in the POCKET

User Info Menu

V nice. Is/was that a special??
    MALC
    2016 Bongo 4 HH Chilli Red

User Info Menu

As a newbie to Ernie Ball products please excuse me if don't know what I am talking about, hopefully I will become more knowledgeable over time, but why not give a wider range of colours (they are more than capable) instead of the very limited range of pretty dull ones? I know it is subjective, but seeing what DW can do with their drums, EB surely can do the same with their guitars? To be fair though I am really REALLY looking forward to receiving my Tangerine Pearl Bongo. It is going to be such an occasion.
    MALC

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Malcspring View Post
    V nice. Is/was that a special??
    Yes, it was one of (2) Mahogany Bongos built before that version was offered as a PDN (in sunburst).
    It's a see-through dark red stain with an incredible Bird's-eye neck (also in see-through red), and best of all it's the HH version.
    LOCK it in the POCKET

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Mabongohogany View Post

Like this?