Voters
5. You may not vote on this poll

5 100.00%

0 0%

Thread: B String Gauge Preference

User Info Menu

B String Gauge Preference

Iím pretty new to the 5 string. Very new

Iím just seeing what gauge of B you prefer. Iíve just changed the 130 that it came with for a 135 (as thatís what I use on BEAD) and Iím not sure that I like it or not ?
    So whatís your preference?

Is the rule of thumb go a gauge lighter on a 5 string than you would on a 4 string ?

StingRay 4HH. SapphireBlack.2006
    StingRay 4H. Buttercreme. 2005
    StingRay 4H. ĒSunBlueĒ. 2005
    Bongo 4H. Sapphire Black. 2005
    Bongo 5HH. Firemist Purple. 2019
    GENZ-BENZ & ORANGE amps...

https://www.facebook.com/DanSmithBassist/

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by danny-79 View Post
    I’m pretty new to the 5 string. Very new

I’m just seeing what gauge of B you prefer. I’ve just changed the 130 that it came with for a 135 (as that’s what I use on BEAD) and I’m not sure that I like it or not ?
    So what’s your preference?

Is the rule of thumb go a gauge lighter on a 5 string than you would on a 4 string ?
    I honestly can’t make up my mind. For my SR5 I like the .130 from the green pack, but I’ve tried .125, .130, and .135 from many different manufacturers on my Bongo 5HH and I honestly don’t love any of them. Still searching. Guess I’ll choose .130 overall because I do like it on one bass and they’re certainly easy to get in a pinch.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Samoht View Post
    I honestly can’t make up my mind. For my SR5 I like the .130 from the green pack, but I’ve tried .125, .130, and .135 from many different manufacturers on my Bongo 5HH and I honestly don’t love any of them. Still searching. Guess I’ll choose .130 overall because I do like it on one bass and they’re certainly easy to get in a pinch.