2020 StingRay Special colors
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The dilema - Morse or JP???

User Info Menu

The dilema - Morse or JP???

hey, I'm a complete noob to this community but if anyone can help me out its you guys!

I recently bought a JP6. It's my first MusicMan guitar, and while I love the guitar, I'm not 100% sure if it's really the perfect ax for me or if I'd be better suited to another MM model.

I absolutely love the playability of MM guitars, (best necks ever!) and got the kind of deal on my JP that I just couldn't pass up.

My favourite thing about the guitar is without a doubt the sound. I have 8 electric guitars, but none of the others even come close to the sound of the JP when I'm gigging with my band. With all its mids, it just cut's through the mix where the others can get drowned out by cymbals etc. (I'm playing the old version of the JP - before the introduction of the d-sonic)

But now that I've actually had the guitar for a few months, and the honeymoon period is over, I'm starting to think that maybe it's not really me. I've also played the steve morse model and think that its body & neck are much more like what I'm looking for.

But my real concern is that I sell the JP to buy a morse, and lose all that wonderfull tone I'm getting live at the moment. I've read quite a few reviews about the morse, and it really seems to be a love it or hate it kind of guitar - not just because of the pickup selection, but also the sounds its signature pickups have.

Whenever I've tried a morse it has just been in music stores, never through my own gear. And unfortunately, buying a morse before selling the JP is not an option - I don't have the cash for that so would definitely need to sell the JP to fund anything else.