Ready to Roar

Thread: Locking tuners

User Info Menu

Locking tuners

Hey guys im a guitar teacher who has just bought a SUB 1. i know how to use its locking tuners but one of my students has just bought an OLP. would it have locking tuners? if so how would he use them?

User Info Menu

The OLP guitars were not made by EBMM - so I don't know if you'll get many answers here. I don't believe the OLP licensed models had locking tuners though.

Welcome aboard though, and welcome to the Sub 1 owners club. Those of us that have them, love them.

Mike
    2016 PDN Starry Night Cutlass (Natural Headstock)
    2010 Barolo JPX (Piezo, Inlays, Matching Headstock)
    2007 Bahama Blue Sparkle Back BFR Luke (GC Exclusive)
    2007 Blue Dawn LE JP6 (Piezo, Inlays, Matching Headstock)
    2006 Dargie Delight I Luke (No Piezo, Natural Headstock)
    2005 Sapphire Black JP6 (Piezo, Inlays, Matching Headstock)

User Info Menu

I've had a few olps and have yet to encounter a locking tuner...
    Super Secret Silhouette Special HH RW AUTUMN REDBURST
    DOB 03/20/2002 Sterling 4 String H RW AUTUMN REDBURST

User Info Menu

Thanks bro yeah im definetly in love with my sub 1. yep i should have realised that the OLP stands for officially LICENCED products and therefor would not be made by EBMM. any idea who makes them?

User Info Menu

They're asian made but are discontinued. I forgot the parent company's name, but they make other guitar brands too. Ernie Ball is now releasing its own subsidiary called "Sterling by Musicman" and thus far, look pretty impressive. There is another thread discussing it.
    Super Secret Silhouette Special HH RW AUTUMN REDBURST
    DOB 03/20/2002 Sterling 4 String H RW AUTUMN REDBURST

User Info Menu

No locking tuners on any previous OLP's. The company was (I believe) Hansen Music.

It is my understanding that the new company making them (now called Sterling), is the Park Family. I don't think any new guitar model has locking tuners (not sure though).