Ernie Ball Tremolo Pedal
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What aspects of the guitar influence in it's overall sound the most?

User Info Menu

What aspects of the guitar influence in it's overall sound the most?

After going through the 10th anni JP speculation thread and comparing Music Man JPs with Ibanez JPMs I caught myself thinking too much about this...

I've been playing for maybe 10 years now... And have had a guitar for about 15, and I've yet to figure out how much each attribute of the instrument actually affects it's overall sound, and how.

Everytime I make comparisons and start extracting sketches of conclusions I'll find a situation that will contradict what I already have, and I'm back to ground zero.

Is it the wood combinations? The way/direction the wood is sculpted? The body shape? Neck shape/radius? Bridge choice? Nut? Weight of the instrument? Balance? Finish? Scale? String guage? Pickups?...

What I have noticed with certain consistency is that different brands sound real different from each other. That is to be expected obviously, but a name alone can't be responsible for the distinction in sound. Something along the way of the production line does the trick, what is it?

What I mean is... A brand (and I'm talking about decent ones, with personality, not those ripoff ones) will have it's signature sound even on different models, some of them quite different spec-wise...

Take a regular JP and compare it with a BFR. They sound a bit different but it isn't significant enough as one would expect from totally different woods, changes in body shape, finish, and whatnot... The 'soul' of the sound is essencially the same.

When pickups are swapped on a guitar I feel a similar experience. You get more/less gain, changes in the EQ , scoop here, boost there and that's it...
    Nothing that you couldn't compensate for in amp setting IMO.