Ernie Ball CRNR Jimmy Page

Thread: NGD - BP and EBMM Thank You

User Info Menu

NGD - BP and EBMM Thank You

Hello All,

Im a new member and somewhat new to EBMM. I owned a baseline JP6 in 2004 for a bit but ended up selling it off due to my son (now 7) being born. Loved it!

We'll get to the JPXI-7 in a bit. Big Poppa, I hope you read this and can bear the longish story as it means something special to me......

A few years ago I went through a divorce and decided to concentrate on making sure my son made the transition through it. Something like that is not an overnight thing so after spending a lot of time and patience with him and seeing him come out with a great understanding of the situation I decided to get back to what I love to do in my sparetime.

I have been playing (at one part of my life semi pro) for 25 years and only took a 5 year break for my son. So 2 years ago I went to a local shop and bought a guitar. For the purpose of not slamming any makers I will stay away from naming brands. I traded that guitar for another more expensive. Action wasnt even, frets were bad, tonewoods were horrible and inconsistant, intonation always off even after using a peterson....

I decided to upgrade in to the 1K range. All issues relieved except.....intonation. This is the bane of my existince. I have VERY sensitive ears. I can hear beating notes when playing chords, I can get some guitars to tune some chords and not others and vice versa. So off it went....So I decided to go to a very popular brand that makes guitars driven to metal and spend more....BTW spending more sometimes can mean spending more at a luthier...