New banner
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What amp for home use?

User Info Menu

What amp for home use?

I am very new to MM guitars, and mine is actually a Sterling AX 40. I have always played single coil Fenders, and this is the first HB guitar I've had since the 1990's. I'm playing through a modified Fender Champ 600 reissue and it is considerably dark without an OD or Distortion pedal engaged. what amp(s) do you prefer for home only use? I was thinking a Fender Pro Jr might be better since its voiced brighter (I think), but I'm not sure.

User Info Menu

I think it’s always a quandary as to what is a good home/bedroom amp.
    I mean, a 15 watt amp when driven hard will get the neighbours knocking!!

There’s an amp on the market that I have tried that really does fit the bill of a home/bedroom amp and I’ve been seriously thinking about getting one (although a recent guitar purchase has put that thought on hold). That is the Yamaha THR amp.

Yes’ I know it’s solid state but boy does it sound good. See if you can try one out?

Yamaha THR10 Amplifier review | TidyWords
    Black Cherry Burst Albert Lee , SSS,Trem & Piezo 2005
    Black LE Albert Lee MM90,Trem 2006 with solid 9k gold knobs;Mesa F50 Combo; Original (owned from new)Marshall 25/50 Silver Jubilee signed by Jim;AER 60 ;WEM Clubman 5W;Musicman RP 65 112;Musicman RD 50 112:

User Info Menu

I have a THR amp and it is indeed a fine home practice amp with a nice tone and plenty of useful features.

Alternatively, why not go for one of the modeling amps like the Peavey vypyr or Blackstar ID range, they will give a ton of options and modeling these days is a lot better than it used to be.

User Info Menu

Well, humbuckers are usually darker sounding than single coils. It's what they do. But I would have thought that just about an amplifier would have more than enough treble on tap to make even humbuckers sound ugly bright.