The Vault

Thread: Just got my first EBMM..JP13

User Info Menu

Just got my first EBMM..JP13

Totally new to the forum and totally new to EBMM guitars and thought I'd share how I got here...

So last week I walked into my local Guitar Center and lo and behold, they actually had some cool used gear, including a mint condition Ernie Ball/Music Man JP13 John Petrucci Signature. I grabbed it and played it through the EVH 50w head that was there, and fell in love. I've been playing Parkers for 15 years and they've mostly ruined me...I gotta have stainless frets and I actually love a painted neck. The JP13 felt very familiar to me...similar high quality paint on the neck, stainless frets, and piezos which, while I don't use them much, I like having. So I spent the weekend doing research on the EBMMs and decided I'd see if I could swing a deal by trading a back-up Parker that I never used (got it right before my band ended).

So yesterday I went back and played the JP13 again, still liked it and asked them to give me a trade value on my Parker Mojo. It had a few dings and a chip out of it so I figured they weren't going to give me at all what I had in mind. When I bought the Parker used, I paid $950 + shipping, I was hoping to get $800. They gave me $925 for it! And then, because I had done my research and knew another store had the same exact JP13 for $200 less, I was able to get them to knock it down from $1899 to $1699. With my trade, I got it for $829...with 12 month no interest financing. As excited as I am about the guitar, I'm almost more excited about the deal I got...lol!