EBMM Stingray bass blue

Thread: Pick up swap on Axis Supersport ?

User Info Menu

Pick up swap on Axis Supersport ?

Hi all.
    I've been gigging my Supersport for a few years now. I have consistent feedback that the guitar's tone is "edgy" and "cutting" live - not necessarily in a good way.
    I find the guitar's tone a little anemic in comparison to my Les Paul's and Strats. I would like to hear from anyone who has had positive results swapping pickups. I'd consider it if there is something out there not so aggressive, but with a lower output and with a little more P.A.F tone - what pick up could you recommend ?
    (Otherwise, I absolutely love the guitar).
    Thanks
    Al

User Info Menu

It's not the Axis SuperSport, but similar enough: I just put Thornbuckers into my 25th Anniversary (aka Reflex) and they're different but I like them a lot. Still getting a feel for them but they were a fairly easy swap if you're gonna stick with stock wiring.
    EVH - Blue Quilt
    1995 - Luke I - Pearl Blue
    2009 - 25th Anniversary
    2011 - Luke II - True Gold BFR
    2012 - Axis Tribute - Trans Pink
    2016 - Cutlass - Vintage Sunburst
    2017 - St. Vincent - Stealth Black

Take a break from playin' guitar and read a webcomic: nemu*nemu!

User Info Menu

I recently picked up a Luke III and have to say how impressed I am with the Transition humbuckers. Very clear and not too middy, but still plenty of output. Thinking about trying them in one of my Morses.

User Info Menu

Hi Al,
    I have been through pickup swapping years and years (mostly Dimarzio, such as Norton, Air Zone, 36th PAF, Virtual PAF, Virtual Hot Paf, and of cours AT-1), but recently came back to the Axis buckers. I consider them to be the best I have tried in all those years for rock to metal guitar.
    I also think they are not particularly edgy , and I am convinced that many suspects in the signal chain may contribute to edgyness.