• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

Jimothy JP7

Headline says it all. What should I look out for? Any special sound cards you guys prefer? What about RAM? Anything you guys know would help.

Thanks,
Jim

Lew

Get a mac. Your going to want more than 2g+ ram.
Get a good audio interface.
Get a good Microphone.
Get logic studio.

I posted this before, this is my first attempt at recording using the above.
It is easy to get a hang of the basics but it has a huge and painfull learning curve.

SoundClick artist: Lewk - page with MP3 music downloads

Last edited:

poj

Do I really need 2g+ ram?

I intend to buy 20" iMac with 1G ram to use with PreSonus FIREBOX 24-bit/96kHz FireWire interface. Just for recording video clip , play along with the backing track.

MMTODD

Totally, totally, totally...
get a mac.

RAM is cheap so get at least 2GB. Get a second firewire hard drive for audio and get a good firewire interface or a Line-6 USB interface with the GearBox software.

I know many think macs are expensive but think about the total cost of ownership and ease of maintenance. Logic is no longer a big learning curve. Logic Studio is great but Logic Express is a great value. For that matter GarageBand is where I usually start writing and getting ideas down - then I go to Logic!

The Line-6 software sounds really good. Seriously.

Macs are pretty brainless. You won't be sorry.

Colin

you really need to work out what your needs are going to be for recording first. Will you need enough inputs for drums etc? How experienced are you with recording? If you plan on using a lot of soft synths plugins etc, you may want to invest in more ram. My recording computer is 4 gig and I use Pro Tools. The whole pc verses mac doesn't hold up anymore as they are so close in terms of performance. Remember computer technology is rapidly changing and fast.

dwells

a mac
protools mbox
valve mic Rode ntk/K2
good headphones beyer dynamic dt990