• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

What is your favourite fretboard wood?

• Total voters

Grand Wazoo

I am not sure if a similar thread/poll has been done before, but being a newbie I have done a bit of a search and not found anything similar.

I am interested to see what the majority of bass players here prefer, no matter what EBMM bass we choose, whether a Bongo, StingRay, Sterling or Sub, we are all all faced with the very important choice of fretboard wood before we sign our life away. I know a few of you are rich enough to be able afford one of each, please vote which fretboard you prefer and tell us why.

I will start, maple all the way for me. The reason? well to me its brighter, and more tonally dramatic than rosewood. I have even owned a maple fretless bass (triple coated with lacquer) and the result was amazing

Aussie Mark

I love ebony for it's feel (especially on a fretless), but currently don't have any basses in the herd with ebony boards. Rosewood is my second preference. But I also have a couple of maple boards too. I guess I'm just a fretboard whore.

fly

all my basses and guitars sport rosewood............but i'm dying for a maple board.........

so i can't poll as of yet.

.......need more time,and money too

RobertB

Ebony, because it's even brighter/attackier than Maple, and looks great. Food for thought: BP used it on the BFR 20th SR5.

mntngrown

Keep a dummy informed or you honest?

I don't see how it matters except for fretless? Let's say I put my index finger down on the "A" posistion of the E string, thereby causing that string to vibrate in the described eliptical pattern from said fret to the bridge saddle. Does the string react any differently due to the fact my index is pushing it down to said varietal species board BEHIND that fret? It's like the "string through body " arguement.