• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

sith

First thing to know: I'm a total noob when it comes to audio recording ;)
I only use recording software to record some ideas ( not more than 4 tracks) so I'm quite a basic user...
The thing is that I recently bought new computer for recording purpose (old machine was to slow) and it actually work worse than on the old machine:

PC: intel dual core 3'0 GHZ
4 GB RAM
500 GB disk
integrated sound card (realtek) - not going to buy a new one, cost me enough already
64 BIT vista

When I try to record guitars a crackling sound appears and when i listen to recording it's even worse ( lo quality and tons of noise).
I tried to find the solution on the internet but it's really hard to find any useful informattion since I don't know what asio, buffer,.... and similar thing mean :mad:

signal chain :

guitar (EBMM jp6)-->boss GT-PRO input--> boss GT main out-->PC line in

And another thing, when i record with windows sound recorder it works perfectly so I think there is surely problem with sonar...

Excuse me for bad english, please help me if you can :(

Smellybum

Hi

I love sonar, it's smelly proof!!! -

I suspect it's the soundcard, I had massive problems setting mine up - have you changed the Mhz settings and tried new drivers??

sith

I can try updating the drivers, but I think they already are recent ones.... Not sure what are those MHz you were talking about :eek:

douglasspears

grrr, wish I could help. I run Sonar 5 now....after trial and error I got things running smoothly and haven't touch it since, haha! I just searched and found the Cakewalk/Sonar forum, and got a lot of answers there.

I recall maybe setting your Megahertz (MHz) on your computer, bit rate, sampling rate, etc. Something like that. I'm also a low-tech individual living in a high-tech world, so I can't give you a step by step solution.