• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

Tintin

Hi all.
I am going to buy my son a Stingray4 for his 21st birthday. Not being a bassist myself I just wondered if anyone had any opinions on whether I should go for an HH or an HS? He plays funk and jazz but also plays in covers bands doing more rocky things. He also plays a lot of solo stuf a la Victor Wooten.
I know this may be a 'preference' thing but if anyone has any opinions on the difference between the 2 configurations they will be gratefully received.

Cheers

GreyDad

If he plays funk and slap bass you might consider just going for an H. There is more room near the neck without the second pickup to get fingers around/under the strings for those styles.

I have a Stingray 4H and a 5HH and although there are more tones out of the 5HH the 4H is better for slap, in my opinion (others will say it's just sloppy technique on my part, which is probably true).

Have you considered a Bongo 4? As I discovered recently, the tones from the single H version of the Bongo are amazing for both funk and rock.

Either way you won't go wrong - he's a lucky lad :D

Bass Case

Stingray HH or H

I agree with Greydad. I have a 5HH and there is very little room between the front pickup and the neck. I have seen a few slap on this bass, but it would seem to me to be less work using the H model. Of course this is totally a preference thing.

Tintin

Valuable info guys... I will of course get him to try out before buying but it's good to know what one is looking for.
If he is comfortable with slapping with the second pick up I would still be interested in knowing the HH and HS difference.

pbass62

I have a 20th anv SR 5 HH. I have owned a single H5 and fretless SR4. I have absolutely no problem with slap/pop technique on my HH. Where this bass really shines is the tonal variations but stll keeping the MM vibe. Any choice I promise your son will love.

MrMusashi

the hs will leave more room for slapping.