• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

edoardo

Hello to all, newbie here
Still trying to find my first EBMM Axis and stumbled across this one (the one with the cracked finish - see other thread - just didn't work out)....
It's a 2006 with an additional (yes.... purists will probably freak out) tone knob DRILLED in (!!!!!) and push-pull coil splits for both humbuckers
Cost is exaclty what I'd pay for, for a similar used Axis with no additional features; mods were done by a professional luthier
Will be trying out the guitar this week end... anything you guys think I should look out for (set aside for this baby's tone of course)
Ah, did I mention she looks beautiful......
Cheers for any help or suggestions!

2566020_1338025049.jpg 2566020_1338025258.jpg 2566020_1338536088.jpg

Tollywood

Looks alot nicer than the first one! The extra knob wouldn't bother me if it were properly installed (as you said it is).

dibart77

If she sounds good to you and feels good to you then I say go for it!

If it were me, I would make sure to confirm that I can still get the stock Axis sounds despite the mods. Meaning, are the three pickup positions on a stock Axis still intact and happening on this one?

Good luck!

-J

aleclee

I don't really miss my Axis' lack of a tone knob relative to my ASS. It has a push/pull on the volume and the split sounds are wonderful.

edoardo

Guy, thanks as usual for your advice, it's very much appreciated.
I wouldn't really mind the guitar NOT having a tone knob (OR push-pulls for that matter) - this guitar is basically meant to be a rock machine - so I wouldn't normally hunt out for one like this, I'll probably allways leave the coils unspliit and the tone knob on 10 anyway !
Also, should I decide to sell it, I'd probably loose something due to the mods (WHY didn't they have to drill the hole????)