• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

kmontano96

Hello everyone!

I am a guitarist who has been playing for nine years, and I would like to ask all of you:

What Music Man basses would you recommend for me as an inexperienced bassist?

I've been looking into Bongos, specifically the 6 string model. Would getting a 6 string be too much for a beginner?

The reason I've been thinking about that one is because I am a huge Dream Theater fan, and John Myung is amazing!

I value everyone's opinions. Thank you, in advance. :)

nervous

As a guitar player for 20 years and a bass player even more a Stingray 4 or 5 should be a very comfortable transition. I'd lean 4 simply because of the low E orientation. Adding the low B can add an unnecessary level of confusion early on. Lots of folks doing great work without the B string so you won't be missing much to start off.

TNT

Well, since you are new at the bass, I think a Bongo is perfect! You haven't become acclimated to any particular instrument yet.

sanderhermans

Depends on what you are willing to play.... a bongo 6 is cool for dream theater style music. But will you use the bass for this? If you are a pretty skilled guitar player then mayebe this is the way to go for you! But imo the sr4 is an instant classic and must have for every musicman lover, especially the classic series is a must have for me.... best advice here is to try some out for yourself. Sr4 is pretty straight forward while bongo or sterling is more versatile. Its all up to you :)

jlepre

Go to your local store and spend some time with a few different models. Maybe more than one afternoon, and find which model feels right for YOU. What's right for others may not be what's the best for you. I would look at the Sterling 4 as an option because of the thin neck.

petch

Another vote for a Sterling 4. The HS model will give you plenty of quick tone change options, much like most guitars.

BigDBass