• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

73watermutt

I just picked up this silo special for a good price. After getting it today I see a crack on the back of the headstock. It looks like its been there awhile but it concerns me. Id like some opinions on it and some neck pocket cracks to. Thanks

beej

Is that really a crack in the headstock? It extends beyond the finish on the back of the headstock, and sort of blends into the line of the wood grain. Can you feel it?

The stress cracks in the body finish are a little larger than I'm using to seeing, though if that doesn't crack further you're good. Probably due to some trauma.

xjbebop

That looks like that autumn burst from GC we saw a few days back (??)
I'm no expert, but it looks like it's been dropped to me. Hard to know the extent of the damage without a full takedown inspection.
It can likely be repaired, but at what cost??

73watermutt

yeah, its the one from GC. Talked to the sales guy on the phone and he failed to mention the headstock crack. This thing looks like a road warrior. I'd bet it was someones main gigging guitar. I pulled the neck and its a 2001. it plays and sounds nice but that crack kind of sucks. I can feel it with my fingernail but it seems solid though.It doesn't look like it extends into the tuner hole. I wonder if it will get worse over time?

Last edited:

xjbebop

I'd say email those pics the EBMM customer service, see what they say.
That big crack at the neck joint looks nasty to me.....

DrKev

Somewhere between Paris, Dublin, and Buffalo
Some of what we're seeing there is certainly just finish cracking. I'm not too worried at all. But GC should absolutely have mentioned it though. I'd be be demanding a partial refund and then sending it to EBMM for refret and refinish.

spychocyco