• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

dsobieralski

Greetings,

This is my first post. First, I want to tell each and every Stingray 4 string owner out there that I envy you. I have been a bassist for over twenty years, but I have never had the pleasure of owning a Stingray 4 String although I had a friend that would let me play on their custom Stringray (SR) often. With that being said, I recently purchased a S.U.B. bass and I have noticed that when I have put it up my friend's SR that there is a definite reason why the SR is what it is and a SUB is what it is. The answer is in the quality of the materials that are put into some of the SUB's components, Notably, the first thing that I noticed when I played the SR is that the 3 band EQ offers a lot more flexibility in tone control than the 2 band EQ that is available with the SUB. Secondly, I feel as if my friend's brass but was far superior to the plastic nut that the SUB bass comes equipped with. One may think, "What would a nut have to do with the overall resonance of a bass?". To them, I say, " A lot". I noticed that my friend's brass nut gave more of an industrial sound than my SUB-equipped plastic nut. By industrial I mean the quality and performance standards of the brass nut-equipped SR to really resonate the slaps and pops of playing slap bass. For slap bass, you could hear the resonating of the slap and the pop coming through the nut. It sounded as if it was somehow mechanical; fused with some metallic undertones that resonated from the nut through the head-stock. These nuances were picked up astutely through the '79's pickup; however, I digress and would rather get to the heart of the matter:
In my demoing of a '79 U.S. Stingray I would like to point out what I would like to incorporate into my S.U.B. bass to make it a budget-minded SR (In no particular order)
1) Brass Nut - My friend's but just resonated that yummy warm, and slightly metallic, snap and pop with slap bass.