• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

assMan

Any suggestions on how to dial in clean sounds from a Blackface clone that I'm running MM custom dimarzio buckers? This is my first time using the combo and the highs sound a little ice-pickish. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks!

beej

I'd suggest using a treble bleed or 50's wiring with the 'buckers, then you can turn down the volume appropriately.

agt

What beej said: the volume knob is your 2nd "tone" knob. Or only "tone" knob on an Axis/EVH.

What kind of blackface was cloned and how precisely? On a Deluxe Reverb, which is what I use primarily, the vibrato channel has a bright cap whereas the normal channel does not. Also, for each channel, the two inputs offer different amounts of gain. If you have such options, experiment there.

My secret weapon going into the Deluxe Reverb's vibrato channel is a Bogner Harlow pedal. Level 9:00, Bloom 9:00, Tone 9:00 (warmer) - 12:00 (normal). It is not set to sound noticeable, but it makes everything sound sweeter.

DrKev

Somewhere between Paris, Dublin, and Buffalo
Black face amps can be very bright and sparkly, it's part of the charm but what speaker is in the amp? Speakers are an important part of the tonal equation. A different speaker will smooth out the treble of the amp (or turn it to mud completely, if you want).

Last edited:

assMan

I'm running my 25th Anni through an older RedPlate BlackVerb combo with a 12" WGS Retro 30. I've rolled off the presence and gain and stay on the neck pup for cleans and this has worked well. This amp works very well with single coils on almost any setting. The buckers are a little more finicky. For dirt, would it be best to keep the amp clean and put a pedal in front? If so, any suggestions?

DrKev

Somewhere between Paris, Dublin, and Buffalo