• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

Calspyderman

Hello,
I'm new to the forum, in fact, new all around. I'm in my early fifties, and just started taking lessons with electric guitar - a serious newbie. My goal is to cover songs from 80s rock bands in my garage. Needless to say, Van Halen "Panama" and "Aint Talkin Bout Love" are among my list of songs. I've been learning the absolute basics with a borrowed Epiphone Les Paul Standard, but found a beautiful early 2000s EB MM Axis that my wife wants to buy me for my birthday. What say ye fellas? Any reason not to if I'm just beginning? Would my wife be handing a baby a machine gun? I've definitely got the bug, and am determined to keep playing. My instructor said... "get anything that will make you play, heck, even just hold your guitar in your hands more." If you get it, and it doesn't sound right, at least you know it isn't the instrument.

Thanks for chiming in.

RichieZ

I don't have a Axis... but I can give an EBMM as first electric perspective. I started almost two years ago and learned on an acoustic for the first year. When I felt I wanted to do electric too, I looked at a played a lot of guitars... and ended up getting a Valentine. It's way too good for me, and may always be, but when I see it I want to play it. I play it just about every day because I can't pas it without waiting to pick it up. I love how it feels and sounds and that makes me want to play and practice longer and harder. So for those reasons, its the ultimate first guitar. I say that if an Axis makes you want to play, and you can afford it, then get it.

Luc

Did you play an Axis before? The only reason NOT to buy it would be the neck being too narrow in comparison with your LP. Otherwise you should really count your blessings to have a wife that buys you an EBMM! My girl wants me to sell one to finance a new bed. Go figure ;)

Show pics when the Axis comes home :)

Last edited:

Wahoonc

Hello,