• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

MassimoP

Hi All,

Last January I bought a used Morse Y2D as my jack-of-all-trades instrument, for situations where I could only bring a single guitar with me. Actually it became my main guitar and I have been playing her extensively for all 2017 :). It is really a fantastic guitar: balanced instrument, comfortable neck, great pickups, etc.

Only thing I miss from her is a strat out-of-phase position tone, in particular for that clean Hendrix rhythmic parts :rolleyes:. I tried to use the stock Y2D middle+bridge position for that, but the bridge humbucker is not splitted so the resulting sound is completely different:confused:.

In a magic world I would like to substitute the stock tone potentiometer with a push-pull tone potentiometer that, when engaged, splits both humbuckers to single coil. So when push-pull is not engaged I would have the stock pickups combinations, but when it is engaged I would have:
  1. Splitted neck HB
  2. Splitted neck HB + splitted bridge HB (tele-like tone)
  3. Middle single-coil
  4. middle single-coil + splitted bridge HB (Strat out-of phase tone)
  5. splitted bridge HB
Is this something possible?

Otherwise, what would you suggest as the best way to simply have available a strat out-of-phase position tone?

Thank you,

Massimo

beej

That's a pretty easy mod. However my two cents is that no matter what you do, there's no great way to get that stratty sound you get with two single coils in parallel. (You can get closer on the stock Morse with the split bridge + neck single, but even then, it's not the same thing.) I've tried other things as well- parallel wiring, filters (like the Bill Lawrence Q-filter), etc. But you can't really change the basic characteristics of the guitar.