• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

Dr. Doom

Hi All,

I just got a Stingray Classic. I bought it a couple of days ago and gigged on it that evening.

When I started playing with other players I quickly realized that the volume of the G string was barely detectable. I took it home, lowered the G, and raised the height of the pickup to make it closer to the G.

I don't mind "tweaking" my basses a bit but usually the factory, including the Music Man factory, are better.

This isn't a general complaint against Music Man. The Classic I just bought brings my collection of Music Man basses up to 3 and I love them all. Music Man makes REALLY NICE basses.

I've never had a problem buying a new bass and taking it right to a gig. I've done it a couple of times. Oh well.

Attachments

• y_W4VXIvO-0PDQlcJ4vlfpchoDK0m3q70GS_kreuddQpX92IB.jpg
    y_W4VXIvO-0PDQlcJ4vlfpchoDK0m3q70GS_kreuddQpX92IB.jpg
    84.9 KB · Views: 306

Double Agent

Congrats on the Classic. My Classic V has been my dream bass. I currently have 2 Rays, but have had another one and 2 Bongos as well without experiencing the G string issue. But I don’t think I would ever gig a bass without tweaking the setup per my preferences. Not that the factory setup is bad, but there is a reason it’s adjustable...everyone has different styles that call for adjustments to be made.

Anyhow, I hope that you enjoy the bass now that it’s had a couple adjustments. The Classics are special IMO and I’m not parting with mine for as long as I keep playing bass.

Dr. Doom

You're right of course. I now know that I should have tweaked it first. It seemed fine when I tried it in the music store. Playing with other musicians is different though.

I have, on two occasions, taken a brand new bass to a gig right after the purchase and it worked out well both times.

annvald