• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

backagain1

I've been playing guitar for past 3 or 4 years and I'm just now getting back into bass, playing my SR-5. After sitting in the basement for 4 years, the roundwound EB strings I had on the bass were quite dead. I knew I wanted to go back to flatwound, so I put on my last set of Ernie Ball 2810 Flatwounds... Man, those things sound GREAT on my SR-5.

So I went to order my next set of EB flatwound replacement strings, and I see that there are now several other choices that weren't available 5 years ago. I see the Ernie Ball 2810 Flatwounds are still available. I see there are also now "Ernie Ball P02816 Slinky Flatwound 5-String Bass Strings". Further, I see there are also "Ernie Ball Regular Slinky 5-String Flatwound Cobalt Electric Bass Strings" available. Is that something different, or are these last 2 choices the same?

What's the difference in the sound of these strings? Which do you like best?

Thanks,

backagain1

bovinehost

Administrator
I've been using EB Flats for a long time now. Once the Cobalt Flats became available, I decided - why not?

And now all of my basses are being converted to the Cobalts, slowly but surely.

The Cobalts give you options. If you want the thump of flats without the zing, you can tame them with the EQ on your Stingray5. But if you want the full tonal range and top end bite of a round, they can do that, too - while still feeling like flats.

I absolutely love these Cobalt Flats.

backagain1

I've been using EB Flats for a long time now. Once the Cobalt Flats became available, I decided - why not?

The Cobalts give you options. If you want the thump of flats without the zing, you can tame them with the EQ on your Stingray5. But if you want the full tonal range and top end bite of a round, they can do that, too - while still feeling like flats.

Are you referring to this model: Ernie Ball 2816 Slinky Flatwound Electric Bass Guitar Strings?

Thanks for your help.