• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

tj1

Hi

I have just been lucky enough to test both a SSS and an HSS Silhouette special.

For some reason the SSS model is £300(about $400) cheaper than HSS.

I am a beginner and I struggled to tell the difference when playing basic chords, even when twiggling the lever all five ways.

Could anyone tell me why I should pay so much more for the HSS?

Thanks

DrKev

Somewhere between Paris, Dublin, and Buffalo
Welcome to the forum!

Painted headstock and/or sunburst finish are the extra charges. Otherwise I thought they’d be the same price. (Somebody please correct me if I’m wrong).

If money is no object, buy the one you liked most.

tj1

Thanks for the reply - money is an unfortunate object, so I am minded to go for the SSS, I just have the worry that if and when I get more accomplished I'll regret not going for the more expensive model.

DrKev

Somewhere between Paris, Dublin, and Buffalo
You won’t. The SSS is not inferior in any way. Just slightly different sounding in certain switch positions thanks to one different pickup. As you progress as a player and you become more aware of the sonic differences, you may decide that this was the perfect guitar for you all along or you may decide you want something completely different, maybe in addition to this rather than a replacement. Who knows! The important thing is that you start the journey.

The Silhouette Special is a top quality instrument. You will start the journey with a fantastic instrument that can literally last you a lifetime.

John C

Hi

I have just been lucky enough to test both a SSS and an HSS Silhouette special.

For some reason the SSS model is £300(about $400) cheaper than HSS.

I am a beginner and I struggled to tell the difference when playing basic chords, even when twiggling the lever all five ways.

Could anyone tell me why I should pay so much more for the HSS?

Thanks