• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

danny-79

So I’m new to the Bongo world, no going back now ! It’s all I’ve been playing since I got it, still feeling it out. Just a question what are your favourite eq settings (4H). Mine just wants to kill everything! Eq set flat volume 7-8 so not dimed and everything is in the red. Wireless is clipping, compressor is having a breakdown! Seriously have had to change all my settings on everything from how they were with a stingray and I don’t mean by a little bit !

Zen

Yep, The Bongo runs really hot with the 18v electronics and will require some tweaks to other gear if it’s 9v you tend to use and even more so if it’s passive. A lot of times depending on the room I need to cut a little on the bass side and use a bit on the mids to still cut through in the mix. One thing I will say is that the electronics are really powerful so a little goes a long way. This is based on using a HH and I tend to use both pickups or sometimes slight bias towards the bridge.

Last edited:

Mu5icM@n

The bongo has a very hot output. Thankfully the preamp is also really good, so you can just run your volume knob lower.

danny-79

Yep, The Bongo runs really hot with the 18v electronics and will require some tweaks to other gear if it’s 9v you tend to use and even more so if it’s passive. A lot of times depending on the room I need to cut a little on the bass side and use a bit on the mids to still cut through in the mix. One thing I will say is that the electronics are really powerful so a little goes a long way. This is based on using a HH and I tend to use both pickups or sometimes slight bias towards the bridge.

Both of my Stingrays are 9v and my 7azz is 18v but I think that that is 9v per pickup so still technically 9v. Either way the Stingray is a lot higher output than the 7azz and the Bongo is a beast!