• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

vflygare

Hi everyone!
First of all, Just got my first JP6, a guitar i've been dreaming for almost 20 years, and decided to register to the EB forums.
The guitar I bought is made in 2005 and has Piezo system.

For the first couple of weeks the guitar worked great! Felt and sounded great.
But after that the Stereo/Magnetic input started a loud hum everytime I release my hands from strings or metal parts.
Also, the volume and tone almost completely disappeared when using the Stereo input.

I just opened the back cavities and got really really confuced, haha.
I'm newbie on this matter and have very little experience with guitar electronics.
Can anyone help on where I should begin to try to locate the problem?

Thanks! :)

Etudica

The hum when not touching strings could be your environment and nothing wrong with the guitar or guitar grounding. I would just make sure that the cavity cover ground wire is pinched under the cavity screw properly (lots of threads with pics online if you are unsure what I'm referring to). Everything else should be soldered in place and secure.

In my last house I found that the recessed overhead LED lighting in one particular room was the cause for the same sort of hum on my JPs. It became even worse when using an appropriate dimmer switch for LEDs. Not all guitars will behave the exact same way so it may be difficult to pinpoint the interference (only my JPs picked up the hum). Very first thing to try would be to take it to another house or location and see if the hum remains in a completely different environment.

If it still happens far away from any artificial lighting or obvious EM interference, then you may want to reach out to customer service. Even though it is not under warranty, they will sell you replacement preamps and parts if they think that one of those parts may be the issue. The prices are very reasonable in my opinion.