• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

DrMatthewCross

Hi,
I bought a brand new StingRay special a week ago. I played it at the shop for a while before buying it, and eveything was absolutely fine.
Yesterday I was reviewing a couple of songs before rehearsals on my headhpone amp, and suddenly... the bass turned off completely. I plugged the cable out and in and it worked again, so I didn't worry about that.
During rehearsals, it happened again 3-4 times and everytime I "solved" the problem doing the same thing, basically. I dindn't hear any crackling when touching both the cable and the input jack on the bass, so I guess it's the batteries? They're 2 9v Duracell, marked with "april 2017".
This is my first active bass, so I'm not an expert, but I would expect a dropping volume with low batteries, not instant cutting like this. It seems like something it's going into "standby mode" and plugging the cable out and in make the thing work again. When it starts to work again, I hear some sort of "pop" coming out of my headphones or cabinet.
Suggestions?

PS: the bass sounded great the whole night and I love it.

Last edited:

danny-79

New batteries first port of call.
The batteries are activated when you put the jack plug in the bass and stays activated till it’s removed (so if it’s been left plugged in while not in use it’s easy to drain battery)
Symptoms of flat batteries are cutting in and out

Last edited:

DrMatthewCross

Thanks, Danny.
The reason why I'm asking is because I always thaught that the usual symptoms of a low battery is lack of headroom, distortion, volume drops. This seems more like an instant cut of the signal which is solved by plugging the cable off and on again and basically send a signal to the "sleeping" circuit to wake it up.
While practicing, I'm just observing its behavior and it seems to go off/on quickly and completely randomly. In the last 10 minutes it didn't happen anymore, like it's coming back to life after some playing.