• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

B String Gauge

• Total voters

danny-79

I’m pretty new to the 5 string. Very new :D

I’m just seeing what gauge of B you prefer. I’ve just changed the 130 that it came with for a 135 (as that’s what I use on BEAD) and I’m not sure that I like it or not ?
So what’s your preference?

Is the rule of thumb go a gauge lighter on a 5 string than you would on a 4 string ?

Samoht

I’m pretty new to the 5 string. Very new :D

I’m just seeing what gauge of B you prefer. I’ve just changed the 130 that it came with for a 135 (as that’s what I use on BEAD) and I’m not sure that I like it or not ?
So what’s your preference?

Is the rule of thumb go a gauge lighter on a 5 string than you would on a 4 string ?
I honestly can’t make up my mind. For my SR5 I like the .130 from the green pack, but I’ve tried .125, .130, and .135 from many different manufacturers on my Bongo 5HH and I honestly don’t love any of them. Still searching. Guess I’ll choose .130 overall because I do like it on one bass and they’re certainly easy to get in a pinch.

danny-79

I honestly can’t make up my mind. For my SR5 I like the .130 from the green pack, but I’ve tried .125, .130, and .135 from many different manufacturers on my Bongo 5HH and I honestly don’t love any of them. Still searching. Guess I’ll choose .130 overall because I do like it on one bass and they’re certainly easy to get in a pinch.

I’ve just put the original set it came with back on. The Coated that I put on a couple of weeks ago the finger noise was getting worse not better so binned them and put the next set I’d got lined up on and really didn’t like them..
BEA were only a .5 up and the difference was massive.
They are my favourite stings, on a Four anyways... just sounded muddy on the Bongo.
Oh well got a NOS BEAD set spare. waste of fifty notes :(

five7

I use 120 on one and 130 on another. 130 is in the standard set shipped on new basses from the factory.

drTStingray