• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan
Status
Not open for further replies.

subspec

Does anyone have thoughts / insights / experience on how an Aguilar DCB-M at the neck might blend with the standard MM style pickup at the neck?

For context:
I'm relatively new to playing bass and just picked up a Sterling HH (Ray34HH). First let me say I love it. Went to get a Fender Jazz Aerodyne and brought along my Ibanez SR305 to A/B what I know well. Was supremely dissapointed in the Aerodyne. Next on my list was an Ibanez AFR45, liked it allot though the piezo is admittedly a bit odd with allot of microphonics. Price wise though I wouldn't have been walking out with it either way. Went through a few others before giving up on walking out with one when the Ray HH caught my eye. Needless to say I was immensely impressed and brought it home.

I'm very happy with it but for two reasons I am looking at various pickup options. First because I always do that with all my instruments, I want them to sound the way I want them to sound. Second because I have been very pleased with the Aguilar soapbars I have in my Ibanez. The qualities that I like about them is that compared to the stock pups they pickup allot of nuance / harmonics, add to the dynamic range, sound much more natural, and have nice even levels across the strings.

The Ray was admittedly a rather odd choice for me as I (theoretically) prefer a jazzy, wide dynamic range sound over the more aggressive full throated sound of the Ray. I say theoretically because those preferences went out the window when I played the Ray. All the same, and while I'll still play the Ibanez some, I'd like to have a bit more of those dynamics and nuance available at the flick of a switch.