• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

Simbah2019

Hello everyone, I’ve got a Cutlass HSS.
I’d like to learn how to lower the action a little bit on my own. I’m new to this, so any information on how to do that (tools, measurements, etc) would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Astrofreq

For setup on my guitars, I do a combination of things.

1) I always set the neck perfectly straight with the truss rod.

2) I often put a little shim under the neck, about the depth of a business card. (NY metrocards are my fav). This is depending on how high the action is.

3) lastly, I set the individual saddles and maybe the two tremolo posts that set the height of the entire tremolo.

Doing the three things can get your setup to just about anywhere you want it to be. You will probably need to make adjustments to the springs as you go. I almost always take out one spring and tighten the claw. It makes the strings “springier” and bends are effortless.

I have never bee worried about factory settings or string height recommendations. It’s all about feel/sound 1000%. Part of it is just learned experimenting ... through an amp. Don’t be afraid to try things because you will learn what works and doesn’t work for YOUR playing.

I hope some of this helps. :)

Simbah2019

Thank you very much. I’ll give it a shot today. Getting tired of spending $ with simple setups!

Bill S

For setup on my guitars, I do a combination of things.

1) I always set the neck perfectly straight with the truss rod.

2) I often put a little shim under the neck, about the depth of a business card. (NY metrocards are my fav). This is depending on how high the action is.

3) lastly, I set the individual saddles and maybe the two tremolo posts that set the height of the entire tremolo.