• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

danny-79

Just a random thought regarding pickup configuration. It’s basically H. HS. or HH. (with added P on any, not forgetting the BA in SSS )

I’m definitely a point and shoot single H player. I’ve one HH but that’s also got a Bonus string so it’s the odd one out.

I think my question is, (I’m talking Bongo) there are a lot, the most popular being HH, lots of them about, then single H a little rarer then there’s the HS configuration that seem to be very sort after, not many of them about and they hold their value.
I’ve no personal experience with a HS unfortunately (it’s on my list!)
Any clues or opinions on the subject?

Mu5icM@n

I personally love the HS bongo config, much more than the HH. There’s something about dual humbuckers that just sounds too nasal and there’s an odd sort of ring/glassiness/scooped sound that I hear that makes HH basses in general unpleasant to me. But that bongo HS is totally unique and amazing sounding. Listen to Dave Larue with Joe Satriani on One Robot’s Dream on Satriani Live and you’ll hear it.

kevins

I think the stock pickup height on the HH is a conservative setting. Sticking the neck pickup closer could change the tone a lot, but also runs the risk of magnetic field warble! But I sort of use the pickup height as a way to balance the pickups in favor of the neck pickup

On the Sabre classic you get a neat HS setting, but it’s gonna be different cause that neck pickup is 16 poles and the HS on that is a musicman mini humbucker and a jazz pickup essentially. Does sorta sound like a pj in a weird way and you wouldn’t think it would sort out like that but it does sound a lot like a pj

muggsy

I have a Bongo HSp and love it. I generally prefer the single H, point and shoot, though I had a single H Big Al and sold it to buy an SSS while they were available. My first Bongo was an HH and I sold it after a few years, but the HSp is a keeper. More usable tones IMO than the HH.