• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan
Hi everybody, I'm having trouble getting the right tone from my new Stingray Special HH. It just sounds kind of harsh, like scraping metal. Is it just because the strings are new? I don't know if it's my amp or maybe I don't know what I'm doing. I'm a beginner and still learning so I appreciate any help.

N4860

Do you have all of the knobs fully boosted? Try starting with all of the eq in the center detent position and then boost the bass a little bit and turn down the treble a bit. That's usually how I run my stingrays.

bovinehost

Administrator
New strings, too?

In addition to the above advice, you may be like me, looking for thump+punch, not zingy and treble-y.
If that's the case, I suggest some EB Flats or Cobalt Fllats.
Strings can make all the difference in the universe.

Jack

Ok thank you. I keep all the knobs flat and use the amp to try and change the tone. I guess it’s better to do it the other way around? I will definitely check out flatwound strings.

Mu5icM@n

I would try giving the bass knob some boost. Leave the others flat or reduce treble and adjust volume to accommodate. See how you like it. Remember the eq can boost AND cut.

kevins

What kinda amp is it? I’ve found that active basses generally are not happy on low wattage amps. not that you gotta shell out for a 300 watt or anything, but about 50 watts or so is gonna give you more headroom so you don’t clip as easily. If you’re direct inputting into a digital interface you’re gonna run into the same problem but worse! 78 stingray manual recommended not turning the volume on the bass past 2/3! Amps have changed since then but it’s good to keep in mind that you’re gonna have a louder signal than a passive bass!