• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

BASS67

Hi everyone.

My name is Carlos from Spain. I'm a newbie on this forum.

I show you my recently adquisition, a very rare 1987 Musicman stingray, all black with matched headstock. Completely original, serial number 255xx, "May 20 1987" heel stamped, "Sep 25 1986" neck stamped, 85's pots... . I have never seen any other like this before. Ernieball Customer service told me that the bass is a standard from 1987 and that they never had a Custom Shop department, so I don't know what it is, color test, prototype, 89's "Darth Vader" ancestor? Could someone provide some information?. Thank you and I hope you like it.

20220428_190200.jpg 20220428_190249.jpg 20220428_190213.jpg

BASS67

What’s the full serial?

Hello. 25526

FIND YOUR INSTRUMENT​

This finder expects serial numbers from guitars and basses manufactured in the San Luis Obispo, CA, USA facility. Unfortunately, this will not return details from Music Man Amps OLP or Sterling by Music Man instruments. Serial numbers will start with an uppercase letter followed by 5-6 numbers. Older instruments from the '70s and '80s will be all numeric, and will not be found by this finder.

Serial #025526
ManufacturedJune 22nd, 1987
ModelBASS STING BLACK ROSEWOOD 2EQ

Rod Trussbroken

Hi Carlos. It may be just the pics but, when viewing the front of the headstock, it seems (to me) that the E, A & D tuner stems are a tad shorter than they should be. Viewing the rear of the headstock It looks like the E, A & D tuners are positioned further away from the edge of the headstock than the G tuner ???

BASS67

Good afternoon here in Spain.

I think it's the effect of the photo, they all measure the same, aprox. 70 millimeters in length.

Pala.jpg

BASS67