• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

ReynoldsSGfan

I have been using Ernie Ball strings for a couple years now and have stuck on the RPS 9's. Recently I have purchased 6 packs of strings from a local music store and every pack of these strings I have broken the D string in less than an hour, I have never had this problem with Ernie Ball before I usually change my strings once a week and I have gone months before without problem. Is there any contact information? I saved the last string that broke and I have 2 more packs unopened out of the same batch I believe is there anything to do or do I tough it out?

TNT

In addition to the above - I know this may sound stupid but just double check the "D" string route from Top to Bottom (thoroughly)
I'm pretty sure you'll find the culprit!

DrKev

Somewhere between Paris, Dublin, and Buffalo
I had a similar thing with my G-string on a strat many years ago. It was the guitar, not the strings. Where the strings are breaking is your clue. What happened was that pressure from the string tension was wearing notches into the the bridge saddles and the notches were causing the strings to break. Sharp edges can develop over time any where the strings contact another metal part. It's most troublesome on sharp corners, particularly on tuning posts and vintage-style saddles. A little light work with a needle file and 600 grit sandpaper to the points where the strings contact the saddles was a once a year job with my strat.

In my experience, whatever about a random string breaking here or there (which can happen to any brand of string, albeit very rarely), if a particular string is regularly breaking at the same place, it's pretty much always a guitar problem.

EB contact information is here
. Hope it all works out for you!!

ReynoldsSGfan