• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

backagain1

Does anyone who has a 5-string bass have a rig with a single 2-10" cabinet that has a big enough sound to go alone? Or do I need to go with a 4-10"?

Thanks!

backagain1

five7

I have an ampeg portabass 2-12 that works fine on its own. With a markbass f1, very nice.

lorino

2x10

I don't have a 5 string, and its not 2x10, but this serves me quite well: Mesa/Boogie M6 Carbine Bass Amplifier

I have the combo, but you can buy the head and a 2x10 - combo is a bit heavy, but what the heck. I actually have this as the "Fathom" - it was introduced with that name, then they were sued by a non-music company for the name and they renamed the series the Carbine.

Anyhow, it more than stands on its own - especially with my Radiant Red Bongo 4 HS.

JIM

bradfordws

You need two 210 cabs. I've been using this setup for around 15 years. I used to hate having to lift my 410 cab - they're like 80 to 90#! If you have a 610 or 810, you can tilt them back on the wheels, but then again - heavy! I had one of those Acoustic 215 cabs back in the early 80s with the two casters on the back. I've downsized quite a bit since then - and the pair of 210 cabs has been great ever since. Here's the cool thing - some gigs you can get away with one cab - then, for bigger gigs - take both. They are way lighter and easier on your back. Just get a fold-up dolly and you're all set. Two more cool things - you can stack them vertically and take up a lot less space on a small stage - all you need is a micro head of some sort - there are many on the market now as we all know. The last point is that you can aim the lower cab at your drummer and the top cabinet straight out for those situations when the drummer needs more bass. Another option - get a 210 and a 115 - makes a nice combo - 210 for small gigs - both for larger.

bob atherton