• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

Dees

I just bought a second hand Stingray OLP (I don't have enough money for a real MM, i'm just a student oyu know:) ), and I'm planning to upgrade it a little bit. It's not that I don't like the original pick-ups, but i'de like to see some better ones in it. Anyone has any suggestions? I was thinking about MusicMan or Bartolini Pick-ups. suggestions? experiences?

thanks

basscat

You can only get Musicman PUs second hand as they don't sell them separatly. The two most common after market options are Bartolini and Basslines (Seymor Duncan). The latter is pretty close to Musicman in terms of sound whereas Barts have a warmer, less bright tone that is quite different from the typical Stingray sound. Other companies that make suitable PUs include Kent Armstrong and Status. I've equipped an old Ibanez Musician with a two Kent Armstrong MM humbuckers and an EMG preamp. I think those pickups are quite good although the combination of the heavy and hard acoustic tone of the neckthrough Musician, the preamp and the unusual PU configuration add upp to a bass with a very personal sound.

Basscat

basscat

Elementary dear Watson - SD use the brand name Basslines for their bass products. Thus the link is http://www.basslines.com/.

A buddy of mine recently ordered an Alnico SR5 replacement PU. I'll get back with info regarding that once the six week delivery times is through.

Basscat

beav2k2

*slaps head* I kno that silly. I'm want a link to the actual pickups, not SD. I've checked eBayand I've looked on google. Is it the SMB-4b, or 5?

edit- Duh, the SMB5 would be for 5 strings.

Last edited:

beav2k2

I found a link to buy one for like 80, but I want to know if it comes with the wiring I need or not? Will it have all the circuits and knobs and such?

Dees