• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

TheNewGuy

This is my first time changing strings, and adjusting various parts on the guitar. I'm a bit nervous, but I figure that I have a lot of string changes and intonation checking in my future, and I have to learn how to do it sometime so it might as well be now.

My guitar (ESP LTD EC-50) has never really been 'set-up', the intonation has never been adjusted nor have the strings ever been changed in the 4 years that I have owned it. I know, its kind of ridiculous and I regret not having done all of this sooner, but I have only recently gotten serious about playing and expanded my extremely limited knowledge of the guitar.

I suppose any guide to changing strings and adjusting the guitar to a new gauge for proper intonation will help me achieve my goal. But I thought I would post here first to get any advice that I could before I start.

*Q1: My understanding is this is not that difficult to do, but when you are new to it, it can be easy to mess something up. But as long as I don't have to file the nut, it's not like the adjustments can't be undone, right?

*Q2: I don't know the exact brand or gauge of the strings that are currently on the guitar, all I know is that they are the original factory strings and I want to replace them with "Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottom .10-.52 Strings" and tune them to Standard E. I have read that ESP uses 46/36/26/17/13/10 for their factory strings. Could there be any problems with changing my strings to what I presume is a heavier gauge?

*Q3: What tools will I need to accomplish the string replacement and guitar set-up? (I assume just a flathead screwdriver and an allen wrench. Then of course the strings themselves and an electronic tuner.)

*Q4: The screws have a black finish and I don't want to strip the paint, any way to avoid that?