• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

PurpleSport

Okay class - picking up where our legalese class left off last week.... ;)

Just saw this one over the weekend - looks like Gibson just successfully sued PRS over a very popular "trademarked design":

http://news.harmony-central.com/News/2004/Gibson-PRS-Case.html

So, in short, looks like they own the rights to a particular single-cutaway solidbody electric guitar shape, and even a BIG manufacturer like PRS can mistakenly infringe on it and lose a ton o' $$$ in the process.

Apparently there's indeed a distinction that's been made in trademarks vs. patents that I wasn't aware of in a reply I made to a similar thread a while back (again, I'm not a lawyer, I just play one on radio/TV every now and then)...however, I do believe I've seen actual 50's era patents for not only the LP but also Strats too. Would be neat if a moderator could chime in with some words from the EBMM legal department on what the differences are.

FYI: Some of you might be asking how this thread has anything to do with EBMM....well, aside from the aforementioned updating a previous thread, as I made a quick scouring of the US Patent office website to find the trademark referenced in the article (which I didn't find)...I came across this wacky one granted our friends in San Luis Obispo - check it out! :)

http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=doc&state=f6b3sd.2.39

bing4sons

PurpleSport,

Your second link didn't work.

Very interesting. I guess Gibson just went after the biggest player? I've seen countless knock offs of the LP. The Heritage model, built by ex Gibson employees, looks just like the LP.

Bing

tvanveen

The interesting part, as I understand it, is that Gibson Trademarked the LP years and years after the fact, and still won the lawsuit.

Apparently Fender is just now trademarking the tele and strat.

Wonder what a strat trademark would do to the silo?

PurpleSport