• Ernie Ball
  • MusicMan
  • Sterling by MusicMan

bassfiddlesteve

In 1984 while I was still in high school I got my first Music Man Stingray. I had been playing bass for a few years and when it was time to upgrade to a better instrument I knew what I wanted as several players that I admired played Stingrays. Focus II Guitar Center, the music store on Long Island where I took lessons, was Music Man dealer and generally had them in stock. They offered me a good deal on a used one, but it was white and mine had to be sunburst like the one John Deacon played. Luckily, they had a new sunburst Stingray at their North Bellmore location and soon it was mine.

Not long after I bought my bass, I saw the first Ernie Ball models at the same store and I regretted not waiting a little longer as the rosewood fingerboard and lighter, contoured body were features that I wished my bass had. Still, my Stingray accompanied me when I attended Berklee College of Music and played my first professional gigs. Unfortunately, it was consigned to the moving van when I moved to Florida and it never played right after being exposed to the extreme heat during that trip. I wound up selling it to a big music store in Tampa and moved on to other basses, included a white Stingray for a while (even though I still preferred sunburst).