• There is a glitch in the forum software and/or configuration that we are still trying to track down. For now, please make sure that the title of your new thread does NOT start with a number (digits). Otherwise, your post will appear to be saved but future attempts to read it will be met with an error message indicating the thread/post cannot be found. ~ admin

backagain1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
391
Location
Indiana
Do You plug your active bass into the normal input of your amp or the Low Level Input? I have a Stingray 5.

Thanks,

backagain1
 

INMT

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
735
Location
Montana
Check the owners manual of your amp, I bet they suggest the low.
 

nicjimbass

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
223
I play a GK Fusion 550 and I always set it to the Passive (or low input) setting. The amp never clips at all... in fact, none of the handful of GK heads I've used have ever clipped with any EBMM bass I've played, or any bass at all for that matter. I'm sure different amps behave differently, but for me, the GK heads haven't needed to be padded. YMMV
 

backagain1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
391
Location
Indiana
That's the word I was looking for ... "padded." My question should have been, "Do you plug your active MM bass into the padded input, or the normal input?" I don't want to lose that great active boost sound.

Thanks,

backagain1
 
Last edited:

RobertB

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
1,654
Location
Denver area.
My SWR has "passive/active" and "active" (padded) inputs. I use the "passive/active" input, because using the gain that controls the tube preamp, I can easily keep it from clipping, while retaining that "forward in the mix" active sound.
 

laneline

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
763
Location
North Jersey
On my Ashdown high input is for Passive and Low input is for Active basses, even my little Ampeg BA112 works the same.I'm pretty sure you need the low impedance for the active EQ to behave, on amps with both inputs.
 

oddjob

Well-known member
Joined
May 12, 2004
Messages
2,839
Location
Monroe, Ohio
I use the pad on my GK to keep the Bongos behaving - not an SR5 but I have found that on amp that gives you a choice it is usually best to follow the manufacturer's guide. However you can sometimes get by using either if you do what BP and EBMM suggests and not dime the volume but use it as a line level
 
Last edited:

Kruse

Active member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
28
Location
Switzerland
My SWR has "passive/active" and "active" (padded) inputs. I use the "passive/active" input, because using the gain that controls the tube preamp, I can easily keep it from clipping, while retaining that "forward in the mix" active sound.
+1
I can dial the gain knob to 1 or 2 o'clock and still don't get the "clip" LED to flicker.
 

GreyDad

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
679
Location
Somerset UK
Both - 'cos I can never remember which one is which :rolleyes:

I'm sure it must make a difference but I haven't noticed yet
 

Grand Wazoo

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Messages
2,830
Location
Planet Remulak :)
I have 2 amps the Trace Elliot has 2 inputs one called ACTIVE the other PASSIVE, I think that must be a dead giveaway, the other amp is a Mark Bass, that has only one input and a blue gain light which lights up when your input gain is too high, that light must be kept off hence I would back off the gain a bit to avoid clipping. Simple.
 

jlepre

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
3,008
Location
Parsippany, NJ, United States
The only difference between the passive and active inputs is that the active has a resistor in line to lower the actual input of your instrument. I have been told that will actually effect the sound quality of your signal, so I was told to always us the passive input to achieve the full signal of my bass. Any other thoughts?
 

maddog

Well-known member
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
4,463
Location
Albuquerque
If you aren't clipping the front end, no reason to use the "active" input on an amp.

the sound quality of a resistor is a hot topic among audiophiles. I just enjoy the music.
 

Kirby

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
1,156
Location
Indiana
I never use the "active" padded input. It squashes the tone too much for my taste. I also detect some funky compression that seems to be going on in most of those -db inputs.
 

AtomicPunk

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
250
Location
Detroit Suburbs, MI
I've been using the "active" input (-6 db) because of the mighty output of the Bongo. Maybe I will try the "passive" input and dial it back and compare.
 

backagain1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
391
Location
Indiana
I've been using the "active" input (-6 db) because of the mighty output of the Bongo. Maybe I will try the "passive" input and dial it back and compare.

Let me know if you notice a difference in the sound.

Thanks,

backagain1
 

Basscake

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
149
Location
@ home
That's simple: My amp has only one input and a gain pot.

On other amps I usually try the passive (or "high") input first.
Only if the amp can't handle ample boosts from my onboard-preamp I change to the active one...

Why tame the signal down if the amp can handle it as it is...

So just try it.

There is not really a wrong or right.
There are some basses out there with a way "hotter" output in passive mode than some active basses i've heard. It doesn't say much.
Take G&L for example. Even in passive mode hard to handle for some amps...
 
Top Bottom